Kansas City Sports Commission

The Kansas City Sports Commission has awarded the Shawnee Mission West Football Community with the Sprint Community Champion Award for its unity after the tragic death of Andre Maloney. This foundation recognizes outstanding individuals for their commitment and achievement in sports.  This is the 41st annual Kansas City Sports Commission banquet.

Paige Parker’s mom, Brandi Hernandez, nominated the SMW football community for this award. Paige Parker is a senior at SMW and she is also on varsity cheer.

“Everyone in the community pulled together. Number one for Andre and number two in support of each other and that’s really what this award is about,” said Athletic Director Mr. Perkins.

Here are the winners for the Kansas City Sports Commission Awards.

Sprint Community Champion: Shawnee Mission West Football Community.

Kansas City Life Sportswoman of the Year: Shannon Vreeland, Olympic gold medal swimmer.

Kansas City Downtown Marriott Sportsman of the Year: Matt Besler, Sporting Kansas City and U.S. Men’s team defender.

Burns and McDonnell Coach of the Year: Adam Dorrel, Northwest Missouri State Head Football Coach

Waddell & Reed Executive of the Year: Clark Hunt, Kansas City Chiefs Chairman and CEO

“It’s a tribute to the West community that’s dealt with a lot of things and were always able to give and help out when needed,” said Coach Callaghan.

The awards banquet is April 11th at the Kansas City Downtown Marriott- Muehlebach Towers. The dinner and program start at 7 o’ clock. Anyone is welcome to join. To find out more information on purchasing a table or individual seat for the banquet, email Sarah Dee at [email protected]